Magic the Gathering Card - Press the Enemy - MTG Circle

Press the Enemy

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Instant

Return target spell or nonland permanent an opponent controls to its owner's hand. You may cast an instant or sorcery spell with equal or lesser mana value from your hand without paying its mana cost.

"I showed the blade reforged to him. He is not so mighty yet that he is above fear."

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If a permanent with {X} in its mana cost is returned to a player's hand this way, {X} is 0 for the purpose of evaluating its mana value.
(wotc2023-06-16)
If a spell with {X} in its mana cost is returned to a player's hand this way, {X} is the value chosen as the spell was cast for the purpose of evaluating the spell's mana value.
(wotc2023-06-16)
If the spell you cast has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X.
(wotc2023-06-16)
If a spell is returned to its owner's hand, it's removed from the stack and thus will not resolve. The spell isn't countered; it just no longer exists. This works against a spell that can't be countered.
(wotc2023-06-16)
If you cast a spell "without paying its mana cost," you can't pay any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.
(wotc2023-06-16)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS