Sharkey, Tyrant of the Shire

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Avatar Rogue

Activated abilities of lands your opponents control can't be activated unless they're mana abilities.

Sharkey has all activated abilities of lands your opponents control except mana abilities.

Mana of any type can be spent to activate Sharkey's abilities.

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Sharkey, Tyrant of the Shire's last ability uses a new template indicating that you may spend mana as though it were mana of any type to activate Sharkey, Tyrant of the Shire's abilities. The six types of mana are white, blue, black, red, green, and colorless.
(wotc2023-06-16)
Sharkey, Tyrant of the Shire gains only activated abilities, excluding activated mana abilities. It doesn't gain keyword abilities (unless those keyword abilities are activated), triggered abilities, or static abilities.
(wotc2023-06-16)
If an activated ability of a land an opponent controls references the card it's printed on by name, treat Sharkey, Tyrant of the Shire's version of that ability as though it referenced Sharkey, Tyrant of the Shire by name instead.
(wotc2023-06-16)
Snow mana is not a type of mana. Sharkey, Tyrant of the Shire's last ability won't let you pay a snow cost using mana produced by a nonsnow source.
(wotc2023-06-16)
An activated mana ability is one that produces mana as it resolves, not one that costs mana to activate.
(wotc2023-06-16)
Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written "[Cost]: [Effect]." Some keywords are activated abilities; they have colons in their reminder text.
(wotc2023-06-16)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS