Preeminent Captain
Creature — Kithkin Soldier
First strike (This creature deals combat damage before creatures without first strike.)
Whenever this creature attacks, you may put a Soldier creature card from your hand onto the battlefield tapped and attacking.
Greg Staples
Magic 2015 (M15)
• #25Rulings
You choose what the Soldier you put onto the battlefield is attacking. It doesn’t have to attack the same player or planeswalker as Preeminent Captain.
(wotc • 2014-07-18)
Any abilities of the Soldier creature card that trigger “Whenever [this creature] attacks” won’t trigger because the creature was never declared as an attacking creature.
(wotc • 2014-07-18)
Rulings
You choose what the Soldier you put onto the battlefield is attacking. It doesn’t have to attack the same player or planeswalker as Preeminent Captain.
(wotc • 2014-07-18)
Any abilities of the Soldier creature card that trigger “Whenever [this creature] attacks” won’t trigger because the creature was never declared as an attacking creature.
(wotc • 2014-07-18)