Mask of Immolation
Artifact — Equipment
When this Equipment enters, create a 1/1 red Elemental creature token, then attach this Equipment to it.
Equipped creature has "Sacrifice this creature: It deals 1 damage to any target."
Equip (
: Attach to target creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery.)
Igor Kieryluk
Core Set 2020 (M20)
• #151Rulings
The equipped creature is the source of the activated ability and the source of the damage, not Mask of Immolation. This means that a green creature equipped by Mask of Immolation may deal damage to a creature with protection from red but may not deal damage to a creature with protection from green.
(wotc • 2019-07-12)
No player may take any actions between the time you create the Elemental token and the time Mask of Immolation becomes attached to it.
(wotc • 2019-07-12)
Rulings
The equipped creature is the source of the activated ability and the source of the damage, not Mask of Immolation. This means that a green creature equipped by Mask of Immolation may deal damage to a creature with protection from red but may not deal damage to a creature with protection from green.
(wotc • 2019-07-12)
No player may take any actions between the time you create the Elemental token and the time Mask of Immolation becomes attached to it.
(wotc • 2019-07-12)