Magic the Gathering Card - Cayth, Famed Mechanist - MTG Circle

Cayth, Famed Mechanist

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Dwarf Artificer

Fabricate 1

Other nontoken creatures you control have fabricate 1.

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol: Choose one —

• Populate.

• Proliferate.

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If a player or permanent has more than one kind of counter on it, and you choose for it to get additional counters, it must get one of each kind of counter it already has. You can't have it get just one kind of counter it already has and not the others.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Fabricate doesn't cause the creature with the ability to enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters already on it. For example, Cayth, Famed Machinist will enter the battlefield as a 3/3 creature, then its fabricate ability goes on the stack. Players may take actions (such as casting instants) while the ability is waiting to resolve.
(wotc2024-06-07)
You choose whether to put a +1/+1 counter on the creature or create a Servo token as the fabricate ability is resolving. No player may take actions between the time you choose and the time that the counter is added or the token is created.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the new token will work.
(wotc2024-06-07)
If you control no creature tokens when you populate, nothing will happen.
(wotc2024-06-07)
The new creature token copies the characteristics of the original token as stated by the effect that created the original token.
(wotc2024-06-07)
The new token doesn't copy whether the original token is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, color, and so on.
(wotc2024-06-07)
You don't have to choose every permanent or player that has a counter—only the ones you want to add counters to. Since "any number" includes zero, you don't have to choose any permanents at all, and you don't have to choose any players at all.
(wotc2024-06-07)
If you can't put a +1/+1 counter on the creature for any reason as fabricate resolves (for instance, if it's no longer on the battlefield), you just create a Servo token.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Players can respond to a spell or ability whose effect includes proliferating. Once that spell or ability starts to resolve, however, and its controller chooses which permanents and players will get new counters, it's too late for anyone to respond.
(wotc2024-06-07)
When you proliferate, you can choose any permanent that has a counter, including ones controlled by opponents. You can choose any player who has a counter, including opponents. You can't choose cards in any zone other than the battlefield, even if they have counters on them.
(wotc2024-06-07)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS