Stony Silence

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Enchantment

Activated abilities of artifacts can't be activated.

The relic's purpose? Its design? Whatever the intent, it is now a mere curiosity that breaks up the horizon.

qMark Poole
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written "[Cost]: [Effect]." Some keyword abilities, such as equip, are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text.
(wotc2017-03-14)
No abilities of artifacts can be activated, including mana abilities.
(wotc2017-03-14)
Stony Silence's ability affects only artifacts on the battlefield. Activated abilities that work in other zones (such as cycling) can still be activated. Triggered abilities (starting with "when," "whenever," or "at") are unaffected.
(wotc2017-03-14)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS