Dismantling Blow
Instant
Kicker
Destroy target artifact or enchantment. If this spell was kicked, draw two cards.
"What cannot be destroyed will be bound, but do try to destroy it the first time." —Rem Karolus, Blade of the Inquisitors
Tomasz Jedruszek
Rulings
To determine a spell's total cost, start with the mana cost (or an alternative cost if another card's effect allows you to pay one instead), add any cost increases (such as kicker), then apply any cost reductions. The spell's mana value remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If a card or token enters as a copy of a permanent, the new permanent isn't kicked, even if the original was.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If you put a permanent with a kicker ability onto the battlefield without casting it, you can't kick it.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If you copy a kicked spell on the stack, the copy is also kicked. If the copied spell is a permanent spell, the token the copy of that spell becomes when it enters is also kicked.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If a spell's kicker cost was paid, the spell is "kicked."
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
The kicker ability doesn't let you pay a kicker cost more than once.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If the target artifact or enchantment is an illegal target by the time Dismantling Blow tries to resolve, the spell doesn't resolve. You won't draw two cards if it was kicked. If the target is legal but not destroyed (most likely because it has indestructible), you do draw two cards.
(wotc • 2019-06-14)
Rulings
To determine a spell's total cost, start with the mana cost (or an alternative cost if another card's effect allows you to pay one instead), add any cost increases (such as kicker), then apply any cost reductions. The spell's mana value remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If a card or token enters as a copy of a permanent, the new permanent isn't kicked, even if the original was.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If you put a permanent with a kicker ability onto the battlefield without casting it, you can't kick it.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If you copy a kicked spell on the stack, the copy is also kicked. If the copied spell is a permanent spell, the token the copy of that spell becomes when it enters is also kicked.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If a spell's kicker cost was paid, the spell is "kicked."
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
The kicker ability doesn't let you pay a kicker cost more than once.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If the target artifact or enchantment is an illegal target by the time Dismantling Blow tries to resolve, the spell doesn't resolve. You won't draw two cards if it was kicked. If the target is legal but not destroyed (most likely because it has indestructible), you do draw two cards.
(wotc • 2019-06-14)