Magic the Gathering Card - Guide of Souls - MTG Circle

Guide of Souls

Magic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Human Cleric

Whenever another creature you control enters, you gain 1 life and get Magic the Gathering mana symbol (an energy counter).

Whenever you attack, you may pay Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol. When you do, put two +1/+1 counters and a [[ keyword: "flying" ]] counter on target attacking creature. It becomes an Angel in addition to its other types.

qRyan Valle
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If a spell or ability with one or more targets states that you "may pay" some amount of {E}, and each permanent that it targets has become an illegal target, the spell or ability won't resolve. You can't pay any {E} even if you want to.
(wotc2024-06-07)
The type-changing effect of the reflexive triggered ability lasts indefinitely. It doesn't wear off during the cleanup step or when Guide of Souls leaves the battlefield.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Some triggered abilities state that you "may pay" a certain amount of {E}. You can't pay that amount multiple times to multiply the effect. You simply choose whether or not to pay that amount of {E} as the ability resolves.
(wotc2024-06-07)
If an effect says you get one or more {E}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {E}, you lose that many energy counters. You can't pay more energy counters than you have. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Energy counters aren't mana. They don't go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana "of any type" can't give you energy counters.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Some spells and abilities that give you {E} may require targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell or ability tries to resolve, it won't resolve. You won't get any {E}.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Keep track of how many energy counters each player has. Potential ways to track this include writing theme down on paper or using dice, but any method that is clear and mutually agreeable is fine. (At higher levels of tournament play, dice may not be allowed for tracking counters that players have.)
(wotc2024-06-07)
Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They're not associated with any specific permanents.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Some triggered abilities that state that you "may pay" a certain amount of {E} describe an effect that happens "If you do." In that case, no player may take actions to try to stop the ability's effect after you make your choice. If the payment is followed by the phrase "When you do," then you'll choose any targets for that reflexive triggered ability and put it on the stack before players can take actions.
(wotc2024-06-07)
{E} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
(wotc2024-06-07)
You don't choose a target for Guide of Souls's last ability at the time it triggers. Rather, a second "reflexive" ability triggers when you pay {E}{E}{E} this way. You choose a target for that ability as it goes on the stack. Each player may respond to this triggered ability as normal.
(wotc2024-06-07)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS