Cryptex
Artifact
, Collect evidence 3: Add one mana of any color. Put an unlock counter on this artifact. (To collect evidence 3, exile cards with total mana value 3 or greater from your graveyard.)
Sacrifice this artifact: Surveil 3, then draw three cards. Activate only if this artifact has five or more unlock counters on it.
Yeong-Hao Han
Rulings
Once you've announced that you're casting a spell, players can't take actions until you've finished doing so. Notably, opponents can't try to remove cards from your graveyard to stop you from collecting evidence.
(wotc • 2024-02-02)
Cryptex's first ability is a mana ability. It doesn't use the stack and can't be responded to.
(wotc • 2024-02-02)
If you can't exile enough cards to meet or exceed the required mana value, you can't choose to collect evidence at all.
(wotc • 2024-02-02)
Rulings
Once you've announced that you're casting a spell, players can't take actions until you've finished doing so. Notably, opponents can't try to remove cards from your graveyard to stop you from collecting evidence.
(wotc • 2024-02-02)
Cryptex's first ability is a mana ability. It doesn't use the stack and can't be responded to.
(wotc • 2024-02-02)
If you can't exile enough cards to meet or exceed the required mana value, you can't choose to collect evidence at all.
(wotc • 2024-02-02)