Graceful Reprieve
Instant
When target creature dies this turn, return that card to the battlefield under its owner's control.
"In my moment of death, I had a vision of the world, dark and unwelcoming. I wanted to hide in the deepest meander, but the light pulled me back."
William O'Connor
Morningtide (MOR)
• #11Rulings
Graceful Reprieve’s effect works only once. If the targeted creature leaves the battlefield and is then returned to the battlefield, it’s considered to be a new creature. If that new creature is put into a graveyard, it won’t come back a second time.
(wotc • 2017-03-14)
Graceful Reprieve can target a token creature, but since tokens cease to exist after they leave the battlefield, it won’t be returned to the battlefield.
(wotc • 2017-03-14)
Rulings
Graceful Reprieve’s effect works only once. If the targeted creature leaves the battlefield and is then returned to the battlefield, it’s considered to be a new creature. If that new creature is put into a graveyard, it won’t come back a second time.
(wotc • 2017-03-14)
Graceful Reprieve can target a token creature, but since tokens cease to exist after they leave the battlefield, it won’t be returned to the battlefield.
(wotc • 2017-03-14)