Grimoire Thief
Creature — Merfolk Rogue
Whenever this creature becomes tapped, exile the top three cards of target opponent's library face down.
You may look at cards exiled with this creature.
, Sacrifice this creature: Turn all cards exiled with this creature face up. Counter all spells with those names.
Randy Gallegos
Morningtide (MOR)
• #35Rulings
Once a player gains control of Grimoire Thief, that player can look at all cards it exiled, even if those cards were exiled while someone else controlled Grimoire Thief.
(wotc • 2013-07-01)
Once a player is allowed to look at the exiled face-down cards, that player may continue to do so even after Grimoire Thief leaves the battlefield or another player gains control of it.
(wotc • 2013-07-01)
If a split card is turned face up, the ability counters all spells with the same name as either side of that split card.
(wotc • 2008-04-01)
The only cards you turn face up are the cards exiled with the Grimoire Thief that was sacrificed.
(wotc • 2008-04-01)
The last ability counters all spells on the stack with any of the appropriate names, no matter who controls them.
(wotc • 2008-04-01)
Rulings
Once a player gains control of Grimoire Thief, that player can look at all cards it exiled, even if those cards were exiled while someone else controlled Grimoire Thief.
(wotc • 2013-07-01)
Once a player is allowed to look at the exiled face-down cards, that player may continue to do so even after Grimoire Thief leaves the battlefield or another player gains control of it.
(wotc • 2013-07-01)
If a split card is turned face up, the ability counters all spells with the same name as either side of that split card.
(wotc • 2008-04-01)
The only cards you turn face up are the cards exiled with the Grimoire Thief that was sacrificed.
(wotc • 2008-04-01)
The last ability counters all spells on the stack with any of the appropriate names, no matter who controls them.
(wotc • 2008-04-01)