Iron Apprentice

Magic the Gathering mana symbol
Artifact Creature — Construct

This creature enters with a +1/+1 counter on it.

When this creature dies, if it had counters on it, put those counters on target creature you control.

"I needed an extra set of hands, so I built one." —Kenji, Sokenzan artisan

qKekai Kotaki
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

In some unusual cases, you may end up putting the counters on more than one permanent. For example, if you control The Ozolith when Iron Apprentice dies, you will put the appropriate number of each kind of counter onto both The Ozolith and the target creature.
(wotc2022-02-18)
If Iron Apprentice has -1/-1 counters on it when it dies, the last ability will include those as well. This may result in the recipient also dying.
(wotc2022-02-18)
Iron Apprentice puts all of its counters onto the target creature, not just its +1/+1 counters.
(wotc2022-02-18)
Iron Apprentice's ability doesn't cause you to move counters from itself to the target creature. Rather, you put the same number of each kind of counter Iron Apprentice had when it died onto that creature.
(wotc2022-02-18)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS