Ogre-Head Helm

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Artifact Creature — Equipment Ogre

Equipped creature gets +2/+2.

Whenever this creature or equipped creature deals combat damage to a player, you may sacrifice it. If you do, discard your hand, then draw three cards.

Reconfigure Magic the Gathering mana symbol(Magic the Gathering mana symbol: Attach to target creature you control; or unattach from a creature. Reconfigure only as a sorcery. While attached, this isn't a creature.)

qViko Menezes
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

As soon as an Equipment creature with reconfigure stops being a creature, any Equipment and Auras with enchant creature abilities become unattached. Auras that can enchant an Equipment that isn't a creature remain attached to it.
(wotc2022-02-18)
Reconfigure represents two activated abilities. Reconfigure [cost] means “[Cost]: Attach this permanent to another target creature you control. Activate only as a sorcery,” and “[Cost]: Unattach this permanent. Activate only if this permanent is attached to a creature and only as a sorcery.”
(wotc2022-02-18)
An Equipment creature can never become attached to itself. If an effect tries to do this, nothing happens.
(wotc2022-02-18)
Similarly, if an Equipment is tapped, its reconfigure abilities may still be activated and it may still become attached to creatures. Becoming attached doesn't untap it. In most cases, an attached Equipment being tapped won't affect gameplay, but it will be relevant if it becomes unattached again before it untaps.
(wotc2022-02-18)
An Equipment doesn't become tapped when the permanent it's attached to becomes tapped. For example, if you attack with a creature that is equipped with Acquisition Octopus, then use reconfigure to unattach Acquisition Octopus after combat, the Octopus will be untapped and could be used to block during your opponent's turn.
(wotc2022-02-18)
Although it causes an Equipment to become attached to a creature, reconfigure is not an “equip ability” for the purpose of cards like Fighter Class and Leonin Shikari.
(wotc2022-02-18)
If the equipped creature deals combat damage, you may sacrifice the equipped creature, not Ogre-Head Helm.
(wotc2022-02-18)
An Equipment creature with reconfigure can be attached to creatures by effects other than its reconfigure ability, such as the activated ability of Brass Squire.
(wotc2022-02-18)
If a permanent with reconfigure is somehow still a creature after it becomes attached (perhaps due to an effect like that of March of the Machines), it immediately becomes unattached from the equipped creature.
(wotc2022-02-18)
If an Equipment with reconfigure somehow loses its abilities while it is attached, the effect causing it to not be a creature continues to apply until it becomes unattached.
(wotc2022-02-18)
Attaching an Equipment with reconfigure to a creature causes that Equipment to stop being a creature until it becomes unattached. It also loses any creature subtypes it had.
(wotc2022-02-18)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS