Mental Misstep
Instant
( can be paid with either
or 2 life.)
Counter target spell with mana value 1.
"Your first mistake was thinking I would let you live long enough to make a second." —Sarnvax, Gitaxian sective
Erica Yang
New Phyrexia (NPH)
• #38Rulings
Each Phyrexian mana symbol in a spell's mana cost contributes 1 to that spell's mana value. For example, Mental Misstep's mana value is 1, regardless of how its cost was paid.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
To calculate the mana value of a card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, count each Phyrexian mana symbol as 1.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
If a spell has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be the value chosen for it while that spell is on the stack.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
As you cast a spell or activate an activated ability with one or more Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, you choose how to pay for each Phyrexian mana symbol at the same time you would choose modes or choose a value for X.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
A card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its mana cost is each color that appears in that mana cost, regardless of how that cost may have been paid.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
If you're at 1 life or less, you can't pay 2 life.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
Phyrexian mana is not a new color. Players can't produce Phyrexian mana.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
Rulings
Each Phyrexian mana symbol in a spell's mana cost contributes 1 to that spell's mana value. For example, Mental Misstep's mana value is 1, regardless of how its cost was paid.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
To calculate the mana value of a card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, count each Phyrexian mana symbol as 1.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
If a spell has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be the value chosen for it while that spell is on the stack.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
As you cast a spell or activate an activated ability with one or more Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, you choose how to pay for each Phyrexian mana symbol at the same time you would choose modes or choose a value for X.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
A card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its mana cost is each color that appears in that mana cost, regardless of how that cost may have been paid.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
If you're at 1 life or less, you can't pay 2 life.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)
Phyrexian mana is not a new color. Players can't produce Phyrexian mana.
(wotc • 2011-06-01)