
Congregation Gryff
Creature — Hippogriff Mount
Flying, lifelink
Whenever this creature attacks while saddled, it gets +X/+X until end of turn, where X is the number of Mounts you control.
Saddle 3 (Tap any number of other creatures you control with total power 3 or more: This Mount becomes saddled until end of turn. Saddle only as a sorcery.)
Joseph Meehan
Rulings
An ability that triggers when a creature “attacks while saddled” will trigger only if that creature was saddled when it was declared as an attacker.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
“Saddled” isn’t an ability that a creature has. It’s just something true about that creature. It won’t stop being saddled until the turn ends or it leaves the battlefield.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
If a permanent becomes a copy of a saddled Mount, the copy won’t be saddled.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
Creatures with saddle can attack or block as normal even if they aren’t saddled.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
You may activate a permanent’s saddle ability even if that permanent is already saddled.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
“Saddle N” means “Tap any number of other untapped creatures you control with total power N or greater: This permanent becomes saddled until end of turn. Activate only as a sorcery.”
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
The value of X is determined as Congregation Gryff’s ability resolves. As long as Congregation Gryff is still on the battlefield at that time, X is likely to be at least 1.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
Price History (USD)
Price History (EUR)
Rulings
An ability that triggers when a creature “attacks while saddled” will trigger only if that creature was saddled when it was declared as an attacker.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
“Saddled” isn’t an ability that a creature has. It’s just something true about that creature. It won’t stop being saddled until the turn ends or it leaves the battlefield.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
If a permanent becomes a copy of a saddled Mount, the copy won’t be saddled.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
Creatures with saddle can attack or block as normal even if they aren’t saddled.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
You may activate a permanent’s saddle ability even if that permanent is already saddled.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
“Saddle N” means “Tap any number of other untapped creatures you control with total power N or greater: This permanent becomes saddled until end of turn. Activate only as a sorcery.”
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
The value of X is determined as Congregation Gryff’s ability resolves. As long as Congregation Gryff is still on the battlefield at that time, X is likely to be at least 1.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)