Mourner's Surprise
Sorcery
Return up to one target creature card from your graveyard to your hand. Create a 1/1 red Mercenary creature token with ": Target creature you control gets +1/+0 until end of turn. Activate only as a sorcery."
"Y'all should've known better than to buy me a coffin!"
Zuzanna Wużyk
Rulings
You don't have to choose a target for Mourner's Surprise. However, if you do, and that creature card is an illegal target at the time Mourner's Surprise tries to resolve, it won't resolve and none of its effects will happen. You won't create a Mercenary token.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)
Rulings
You don't have to choose a target for Mourner's Surprise. However, if you do, and that creature card is an illegal target at the time Mourner's Surprise tries to resolve, it won't resolve and none of its effects will happen. You won't create a Mercenary token.
(wotc • 2024-04-12)