Ral, Izzet Viceroy
Legendary Planeswalker — Ral
+1 : Look at the top two cards of your library. Put one of them into your hand and the other into your graveyard.
-3 : Ral deals damage to target creature equal to the total number of instant and sorcery cards you own in exile and in your graveyard.
-8 : You get an emblem with "Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, this emblem deals 4 damage to any target and you draw two cards."
Daniel Ljunggren
Rulings
The triggered ability of Ral's emblem resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
If any exiled cards you own are face down, they have no characteristics. If they're normally instants or sorceries, they won't be counted for Ral's second ability.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
The emblem created by Ral's last ability is colorless. The damage it deals is from a colorless source.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
If you have only one card in your library, Ral's first ability puts it into your hand. Nothing is put into your graveyard.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
If the target permanent or player becomes an illegal target for the triggered ability of Ral's emblem, the ability doesn't resolve. You don't draw two cards.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
Rulings
The triggered ability of Ral's emblem resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
If any exiled cards you own are face down, they have no characteristics. If they're normally instants or sorceries, they won't be counted for Ral's second ability.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
The emblem created by Ral's last ability is colorless. The damage it deals is from a colorless source.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
If you have only one card in your library, Ral's first ability puts it into your hand. Nothing is put into your graveyard.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
If the target permanent or player becomes an illegal target for the triggered ability of Ral's emblem, the ability doesn't resolve. You don't draw two cards.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)