Figure of Destiny

Magic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Kithkin

Magic the Gathering mana symbol: This creature becomes a Kithkin Spirit with base power and toughness 2/2.

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol: If this creature is a Spirit, it becomes a Kithkin Spirit Warrior with base power and toughness 4/4.

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol: If this creature is a Warrior, it becomes a Kithkin Spirit Warrior Avatar with base power and toughness 8/8, flying, and first strike.

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

The effect from the ability overwrites other effects that set power and/or toughness if and only if those effects existed before the ability resolved. It will not overwrite effects that modify power or toughness (whether from a static ability, counters, or a resolved spell or ability), nor will it overwrite effects that set power and toughness which come into existence after the ability resolves. Effects that switch the creature's power and toughness are always applied after any other power or toughness changing effects, including this one, regardless of the order in which they are created.
(wotc2009-10-01)
Figure of Destiny's abilities overwrite its power, toughness, and creature types. Typically, those abilities are activated in the order they appear on the card. However, if Figure of Destiny is an 8/8 Kithkin Spirit Warrior Avatar with flying and first strike, and you activate its first ability, it will become a 2/2 Kithkin Spirit that still has flying and first strike.
(wotc2008-08-01)
You can activate Figure of Destiny's second and third abilities regardless of what creature types it is. Each of those abilities checks Figure of Destiny's creature types when that ability resolves. If Figure of Destiny isn't the appropriate creature type at that time, the ability does nothing.
(wotc2008-08-01)
None of these abilities has a duration. If one of them resolves, it will remain in effect until the game ends, Figure of Destiny leaves the battlefield, or some subsequent effect changes its characteristics, whichever comes first.
(wotc2008-08-01)
Figure of Destiny's second ability checks whether it's a Spirit, and its third ability checks whether it's a Warrior. It doesn't matter how it became the appropriate creature type.
(wotc2008-08-01)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS