Jaya Ballard

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Planeswalker — Jaya

+1Magic the Gathering mana symbol : Add Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol. Spend this mana only to cast instant or sorcery spells.

+1Magic the Gathering mana symbol : Discard up to three cards, then draw that many cards.

-8Magic the Gathering mana symbol : You get an emblem with "You may cast instant and sorcery spells from your graveyard. If a spell cast this way would be put into your graveyard, exile it instead."

qMagali Villeneuve
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Because it’s a loyalty ability, Jaya’s first ability isn’t a mana ability. It can be activated only any time you could cast a sorcery. It uses the stack and can be responded to.
(wotc2018-06-08)
You choose how many cards to discard while Jaya’s second ability is resolving. You can choose to discard zero cards this way (and then draw zero cards) if you wish.
(wotc2018-04-27)
Mana produced by Jaya’s first ability can be spent among any number of instant and/or sorcery spells.
(wotc2018-04-27)
Jaya’s emblem doesn’t grant you permission to do anything with instant and sorcery cards in your graveyard except cast them. For example, you can’t cycle instant or sorcery cards with cycling from your graveyard.
(wotc2018-04-27)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS