Magic the Gathering Card - Grievous Wound - MTG Circle

Grievous Wound

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Enchantment — Aura

Enchant player

Enchanted player can't gain life.

Whenever enchanted player is dealt damage, they lose half their life, rounded up.

Vicky was so tired. The pain began to fade. "You were so brave," said her grandmother's voice from somewhere far away. "But it's time to rest now."

standard
Legal
alchemy
Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If an effect says to set the enchanted player's life total to a number that's higher than their current life total, that player's life total won't change.
(wotc2024-09-20)
Grievous Wound's last ability triggers only once whenever enchanted player is dealt combat damage, no matter how many creatures deal combat damage to them at the same time.
(wotc2024-09-20)
Spells and abilities that cause the enchanted player to gain life still resolve while Grievous Wound is on the battlefield. The enchanted player won't gain life, but any other effects of that spell or ability will still happen.
(wotc2024-09-20)
Grievous Wound's last ability triggers and resolves after the damage is dealt. For example, if the enchanted player has 10 life and is dealt 1 damage, that damage will reduce their life total to 9. Then Grievous Wound's ability will cause that player to lose 5 life, leaving their life total at 4.
(wotc2024-09-20)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS