Mission Briefing

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Instant

Surveil 2, then choose an instant or sorcery card in your graveyard. You may cast it this turn. If that spell would be put into your graveyard, exile it instead. (To surveil 2, look at the top two cards of your library, then put any number of them into your graveyard and the rest on top of your library in any order.)

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, you'll surveil last. For others, you'll surveil and then perform other actions.
(wotc2024-01-12)
When you surveil, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards into your graveyard, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them into your graveyard.
(wotc2024-01-12)
The instant or sorcery card you choose may be one that you just surveilled into your graveyard.
(wotc2018-10-05)
If you cast a spell this way and that card is exiled, it's considered a new object in the zone it's put into. It won't be exiled if it's put into your graveyard later in the turn.
(wotc2018-10-05)
Mission Briefing is still on the stack while you choose an instant or sorcery card in your graveyard. Your Mission Briefing can't be to give yourself that same Mission Briefing.
(wotc2018-10-05)
Mission Briefing doesn't change when you can cast the chosen card. For example, if you choose a sorcery card, you can cast it only during your main phase when the stack is empty.
(wotc2018-10-05)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS