Risk Factor

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Instant

Target opponent may have Risk Factor deal 4 damage to them. If that player doesn't, you draw three cards.

Jump-start (You may cast this card from your graveyard by discarding a card in addition to paying its other costs. Then exile this card.)

qChris Seaman
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If an effect allows you to pay an alternative cost rather than a spell's mana cost, you may pay that alternative cost when you jump-start a spell. You'll still discard a card as an additional cost to cast it.
(wotc2018-10-05)
You must still follow any timing restrictions and permissions when casting a spell with jump-start, including those based on the card's type. For instance, you can cast a sorcery using jump-start only when you could normally cast a sorcery.
(wotc2018-10-05)
A spell cast using jump-start will always be exiled afterward, whether it resolves, it's countered, or it leaves the stack in some other way.
(wotc2018-10-05)
If the target player is an illegal target by the time Risk Factor tries to resolve, the spell doesn't resolve. You don't draw three cards.
(wotc2018-10-05)
If a card with jump-start is put into your graveyard during your turn, you'll be able to cast it right away if it's legal to do so, before an opponent can take any actions.
(wotc2018-10-05)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS