Bile Blight

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Instant

Target creature and all other creatures with the same name as that creature get -3/-3 until end of turn.

qVincent Proce
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Unless a token is a copy of another permanent or was explicitly given a name by the effect that created it, its name is the subtypes it was given when it was created plus the word "Token." For example, if an effect creates a 1/1 Soldier creature token, that token is named "Soldier Token."
(wotc2022-06-10)
If the target creature is an illegal target as Bile Blight tries to resolve, it won't resolve and none of its effects will happen. No creature will get -3/-3.
(wotc2014-02-01)
Bile Blight has only one target. Other creatures with that name are not targeted. For example, a creature with hexproof will still get -3/-3 if it has the same name as the target creature.
(wotc2014-02-01)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS