Crush of Tentacles

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Sorcery

Surge Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol(You may cast this spell for its surge cost if you or a teammate has cast another spell this turn.)

Return all nonland permanents to their owners' hands. If this spell's surge cost was paid, create an 8/8 blue Octopus creature token.

qJama Jurabaev
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

All other nonland permanents will already be in their owners' hands by the time the Octopus token is created. Any triggered abilities or abilities that would have otherwise affected that Octopus won't be around to matter.
(wotc2016-01-22)
Casting a spell for its surge cost doesn't change its mana cost or its mana value.
(wotc2016-01-22)
The other spell that you or a teammate cast can be one that's resolved, one that was countered, or (for instants with surge) one that's still on the stack.
(wotc2016-01-22)
If an instant or sorcery spell cast for its surge cost is copied, the copy is also considered to have had its surge cost paid.
(wotc2016-01-22)
For some cards, surge represents only an alternative cost, a discount that applies if you or a teammate has cast another spell this turn. Other cards, like Reckless Bushwhacker, have additional abilities or effects if you paid the surge cost to cast the spell.
(wotc2016-01-22)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS