Battle of Hoover Dam

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Enchantment

As this enchantment enters, choose NCR or Legion.

• NCR — At the beginning of your end step, return target creature card with mana value 3 or less from your graveyard to the battlefield with a finality counter on it.

• Legion — Whenever a creature you control dies, put two +1/+1 counters on target creature you control.

qCampbell White
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Finality counters aren’t keyword counters, and a finality counter doesn’t give any abilities to the permanent it’s on. If that permanent loses its abilities and then would go to a graveyard, it will still be exiled instead.
(wotc2024-03-08)
If you somehow control Battle of Hoover Dam and no choice was made for it (perhaps because another permanent on the battlefield became a copy of it), it has neither of the two triggered abilities.
(wotc2024-03-08)
Multiple finality counters on a single permanent are redundant.
(wotc2024-03-08)
Finality counters work on any permanent, not only creatures. If a permanent with a finality counter on it would be put into a graveyard from the battlefield, exile it instead.
(wotc2024-03-08)
Finality counters don’t stop permanents from going to zones other than the graveyard from the battlefield. For example, if a permanent with a finality counter on it would be put into its owner’s hand from the battlefield, it does so normally.
(wotc2024-03-08)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS