Tundra Fumarole

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Snow Sorcery

Tundra Fumarole deals 4 damage to target creature or planeswalker. Add Magic the Gathering mana symbol for each Magic the Gathering mana symbol spent to cast this spell. Until end of turn, you don't lose this mana as steps and phases end. (Magic the Gathering mana symbol is mana from a snow source.)

The only thing that smells worse than troll is burnt troll.

qSimon Dominic
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Snow is a supertype, not a card type. It has no rules meaning or function by itself, but spells and abilities may refer to it.
(wotc2021-02-05)
The {S} symbol is a generic mana symbol. It represents a cost that can be paid by one mana that was produced by a snow source. That mana can be any color or colorless.
(wotc2021-02-05)
Some cards have additional effects for each {S} spent to cast them. You can cast these spells even if you don’t spend any snow mana to cast them; their additional effects simply won’t do anything.
(wotc2021-02-05)
If you cast Tundra Fumarole without spending snow mana, you won’t add any mana. Damage will still be dealt.
(wotc2021-02-05)
If Tundra Fumarole is copied, no snow mana was spent to cast the copy, so you won’t add any mana. Damage will still be dealt.
(wotc2021-02-05)
Snow isn’t a type of mana. If an effect says you may spend mana as though it were any type, you can’t pay for {S} using mana that wasn’t produced by a snow source.
(wotc2021-02-05)
The Kaldheim set doesn’t have any cards with mana costs that include {S}, but some previous sets do. If an effect says such a spell costs {1} less to cast, that reduction doesn’t apply to any {S} costs. This is also true for activated abilities that include {S} in their activation costs and effects that reduce those costs.
(wotc2021-02-05)
If the target creature or planeswalker is an illegal target as Tundra Fumarole tries to resolve, it won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. You won’t add mana.
(wotc2021-02-05)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS