Animar, Soul of Elements

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Elemental

Protection from white and from black

Whenever you cast a creature spell, put a +1/+1 counter on Animar.

Creature spells you cast cost Magic the Gathering mana symbol less to cast for each +1/+1 counter on Animar.

qPeter Mohrbacher
The List (PLST)
• #A25-196
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Animar's triggered ability resolves before the creature spell that causes it to trigger. The ability will resolve even if that spell is countered.
(wotc2018-03-16)
To determine the total cost of a creature spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The mana value of the creature remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
(wotc2018-03-16)
Animar's triggered ability triggers only when a creature spell is cast, after costs are paid. The counter put on Animar for a creature spell won't affect the cost of that creature spell, only future ones.
(wotc2018-03-16)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS