Shriekmaw

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Elemental

Fear (This creature can't be blocked except by artifact creatures and/or black creatures.)

When this creature enters, destroy target nonartifact, nonblack creature.

Evoke Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol(You may cast this spell for its evoke cost. If you do, it's sacrificed when it enters.)

qSteve Prescott
The List (PLST)
• #CMA-68
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

If you pay the evoke cost, you can have Shriekmaw's own triggered ability resolve before the evoke triggered ability. You can cast spells after that ability resolves but before you have to sacrifice Shriekmaw.
(wotc2021-03-19)
To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying (such as an evoke cost), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The mana value of the spell is determined by only its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast that spell was.
(wotc2021-03-19)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS