Dread Presence
Creature — Nightmare
Whenever a Swamp you control enters, choose one —
• You draw a card and you lose 1 life.
• This creature deals 2 damage to any target and you gain 2 life.
It beckons silently, waiting in the darkness.
Anthony Palumbo
Core Set 2020 Promos (PM20)
• #96pRulings
A Swamp is a land with the subtype Swamp, not any land with a mana ability that produces black mana.
(wotc • 2019-07-12)
If you choose the second mode and the chosen target is an illegal target by the time Dread Presence's triggered ability tries to resolve, the ability doesn't resolve. You won't gain 2 life, and the ability won't change to the first mode.
(wotc • 2019-07-12)
Rulings
A Swamp is a land with the subtype Swamp, not any land with a mana ability that produces black mana.
(wotc • 2019-07-12)
If you choose the second mode and the chosen target is an illegal target by the time Dread Presence's triggered ability tries to resolve, the ability doesn't resolve. You won't gain 2 life, and the ability won't change to the first mode.
(wotc • 2019-07-12)