Magic the Gathering Card - Embodiment of Agonies - MTG Circle

Embodiment of Agonies

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Demon

Flying, deathtouch

This creature enters with a +1/+1 counter on it for each different mana cost among nonland cards in your graveyard. (For example, Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol and Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol are different mana costs.)

"I feel your pain. It's exquisite."

qIgor Kieryluk
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If you return Embodiment of Agonies from your graveyard to the battlefield, its last ability counts itself.
(wotc2019-07-12)
The mana cost of a split card is determined by its two halves combined. For example, the mana cost of Fire//Ice in your graveyard is {2}{U}{R}, the same as the mana cost of Ral's Outburst.
(wotc2019-07-12)
Alternative costs, additional costs you could pay, cost increases, and cost reductions are all ignored by Embodiment of Agonies.
(wotc2019-07-12)
Embodiment of Agonies checks the mana symbols in a card's mana cost. For example, a mana cost of {X} is different than a mana cost of {0}.
(wotc2019-07-12)
Every Magic card has either no mana cost or exactly one mana cost. A card with no mana cost is never counted by Embodiment of Agonies. A card with a mana cost of {0} is counted.
(wotc2019-07-12)
Hybrid mana symbols are treated as the actual symbols, not as either of their two components individually. For example, {B/R}, {B}, and {R} are three different mana costs.
(wotc2019-07-12)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS