Blood Spatter Analysis

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Enchantment

When this enchantment enters, it deals 3 damage to target creature an opponent controls.

Whenever one or more creatures die, mill a card and put a bloodstain counter on this enchantment. Then sacrifice it if it has five or more bloodstain counters on it. When you do, return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand.

qJokubas Uogintas
standard
Legal
alchemy
Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

You don't choose a target creature card to return from your graveyard to your hand at the time Blood Spatter Analysis's second ability triggers. Rather, a second "reflexive" ability triggers when you sacrifice Blood Spatter Analysis this way. You choose a target for that ability as it goes on the stack. Each player may respond to this triggered ability as normal.
(wotc2024-02-02)
Blood Spatter Analysis is sacrificed for having five or more bloodstain counters on it only while its second ability is resolving. If you put a fifth counter on it some other way, it won't be immediately sacrificed.
(wotc2024-02-02)
Blood Spatter Analysis's reflexive triggered ability triggers and returns a creature card to your hand only if you sacrifice it while resolving its second ability. It won't trigger if you sacrifice it for any other reason.
(wotc2024-02-02)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS