Mizzium Meddler
Creature — Vedalken Wizard
Flash (You may cast this spell any time you could cast an instant.)
When this creature enters, you may change a target of target spell or ability to this creature.
Energy surges in Izzet labs are opportunities for experimentation.
Chris Rallis
Rulings
If Mizzium Meddler leaves the battlefield before its ability resolves, the targets remain unchanged.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
Mizzium Meddler’s triggered ability can target a spell or ability even if Mizzium Meddler wouldn’t be a legal target for that spell or ability. However, the target of that spell or ability will remain unchanged.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
If changing one target of a spell or ability to Mizzium Meddler would make other targets of that spell or ability illegal, the targets remain unchanged.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
The target of the spell or ability won’t change unless Mizzium Meddler fulfills all the targeting criteria. If a spell or ability has multiple targets, such as Send to Sleep, you can change only one of the targets to Mizzium Meddler.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
If Mizzium Meddler’s triggered ability targets a spell or ability with no targets, nothing happens.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
If the spell or ability has multiple instances of the word “target,” you choose which target you’re changing to Mizzium Meddler as Mizium Meddler’s ability resolves.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
If a spell or ability has a variable number of targets, you can’t change the number of targets.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
Rulings
If Mizzium Meddler leaves the battlefield before its ability resolves, the targets remain unchanged.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
Mizzium Meddler’s triggered ability can target a spell or ability even if Mizzium Meddler wouldn’t be a legal target for that spell or ability. However, the target of that spell or ability will remain unchanged.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
If changing one target of a spell or ability to Mizzium Meddler would make other targets of that spell or ability illegal, the targets remain unchanged.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
The target of the spell or ability won’t change unless Mizzium Meddler fulfills all the targeting criteria. If a spell or ability has multiple targets, such as Send to Sleep, you can change only one of the targets to Mizzium Meddler.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
If Mizzium Meddler’s triggered ability targets a spell or ability with no targets, nothing happens.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
If the spell or ability has multiple instances of the word “target,” you choose which target you’re changing to Mizzium Meddler as Mizium Meddler’s ability resolves.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
If a spell or ability has a variable number of targets, you can’t change the number of targets.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)