Hypnotic Specter
Creature — Specter
Flying
Whenever this creature deals damage to an opponent, that player discards a card at random.
"There was no trace Of aught on that illumined face . . . ." —Samuel Taylor Coleridge, "Phantom"
Douglas Shuler
Magic Online Promos (PRM)
• #35040Rulings
The ability triggers even if the Specter’s damage is being redirected to an opponent. It does not trigger if damage that would have been dealt to the opponent is redirected to a nonopponent player or a creature, or if the damage is prevented.
(wotc • 2008-08-01)
Rulings
The ability triggers even if the Specter’s damage is being redirected to an opponent. It does not trigger if damage that would have been dealt to the opponent is redirected to a nonopponent player or a creature, or if the damage is prevented.
(wotc • 2008-08-01)