Magic the Gathering Card - Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker - MTG Circle

Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Planeswalker — Bolas

+3Magic the Gathering mana symbol : Destroy target noncreature permanent.

-2Magic the Gathering mana symbol : Gain control of target creature.

-9Magic the Gathering mana symbol : Nicol Bolas deals 7 damage to target player or planeswalker. That player or that planeswalker's controller discards seven cards, then sacrifices seven permanents of their choice.

qChris Rahn
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

For the third ability, if the player is an illegal target when the ability tries to resolve, the ability doesn't resolve and none of its effects will happen. No damage will be dealt, no cards will be discarded, and no permanents will be sacrificed.
(wotc2012-07-01)
If the damage from Nicol Bolas's third ability is prevented or redirected, the rest of the effect will still happen. Specifically, the number of cards discarded and permanents sacrificed isn't tied to the amount of damage dealt.
(wotc2012-07-01)
The control-change effect has no duration. It will last until the game ends or the affected creature leaves the battlefield. It may be superseded by a later control-change effect.
(wotc2009-02-01)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS