Sanctuary Warden

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Angel Soldier

Flying

This creature enters with two shield counters on it.

Whenever this creature enters or attacks, you may remove a counter from a creature or planeswalker you control. If you do, draw a card and create a 1/1 green and white Citizen creature token.

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If a permanent with a shield counter is dealt unpreventable damage, that damage will be dealt and a shield counter will still be removed.
(wotc2022-04-29)
Shield counters don't prevent players from sacrificing creatures.
(wotc2022-04-29)
If a permanent that would be dealt damage has more than one shield counter on it, that damage is prevented and only one shield counter is removed.
(wotc2022-04-29)
Removing a shield counter in this way isn't the same as regenerating a creature.
(wotc2022-04-29)
Sanctuary Warden's triggered ability allows you to remove any kind of counter, not just a shield counter.
(wotc2022-04-29)
"Shield" is not an ability that creatures have and shield counters are not keyword counters. If a creature with a shield counter loses its abilities, the shield counter will still protect it as normal.
(wotc2022-04-29)
A creature with a shield counter on it may still be destroyed by state-based actions if it has damage marked on it equal to its toughness or has been dealt unpreventable damage by a source with deathtouch.
(wotc2022-04-29)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS