Magic the Gathering Card - Exponential Growth - MTG Circle

Exponential Growth

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Sorcery

Until end of turn, double target creature's power X times.

Most Quandrix students fundamentally disagree with the concept of "enough."

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Exponential Growth doubles a creature’s power sequentially, not all at the same time. For example, if X is 3 and you target a 2/2 creature, you will double its power once to 4, again to 8, and a third time to 16, making it a 16/2 creature until end of turn.
(wotc2021-04-16)
If a creature’s power is less than 0 when it’s doubled, instead that creature gets -X/-0, where X is how much less than 0 its power is. For example, if an effect has given a 5/5 creature -7/-0 so that it’s a -2/5 creature, doubling its power makes it a -4/5 creature.
(wotc2021-04-16)
If an effect instructs you to “double” a creature’s power, that creature gets +X/+0, where X is its power as that effect begins to apply. (This is not the value of X you chose when you cast the spell)
(wotc2021-04-16)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS