Abhorrent Overlord

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Demon

Flying

When this creature enters, create a number of 1/1 black Harpy creature tokens with flying equal to your devotion to black. (Each Magic the Gathering mana symbol in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to black.)

At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice a creature.

qDave Kendall
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Numeric mana symbols ({0}, {1}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
(wotc2013-09-15)
Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don't count toward your devotion to any color.
(wotc2013-09-15)
Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
(wotc2013-09-15)
If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it's still on the battlefield at that time.
(wotc2013-09-15)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS