Ashes of the Abhorrent

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Enchantment

Players can't cast spells from graveyards or activate abilities of cards in graveyards.

Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.

"Let no trace of the vampires' foulness remain."

qDaarken
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities (such as embalm from the Amonkhet set) are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected by Ashes of the Abhorrent.
(wotc2017-09-29)
Ashes of the Abhorrent doesn’t stop players from playing land cards from the graveyard if an effect allows them to do so.
(wotc2017-09-29)
If a creature dies at the same time that Ashes of the Abhorrent is destroyed, you’ll gain 1 life.
(wotc2017-09-29)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS