Magus of the Balance

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Human Wizard

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol, Magic the Gathering mana symbol, Sacrifice this creature: Each player chooses a number of lands they control equal to the number of lands controlled by the player who controls the fewest, then sacrifices the rest. Players discard cards and sacrifice creatures the same way.

qKev Walker
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Players can't take actions once Magus of the Balance's ability begins to resolve until it's done resolving. If any abilities trigger during this process, they're put onto the stack after it's done resolving.
(wotc2018-07-13)
When Magus of the Balance's ability resolves, first the player whose turn it is chooses an appropriate number of lands they control (which may be zero if that player doesn't control more lands than the player who controls the fewest). Then each other player in turn order does the same, knowing choices made by previous players. Finally, all of the chosen lands are sacrificed simultaneously. Players repeat this process for cards in hand and creatures they control, except while choosing cards in hand, players won't know the identity of cards chosen by the previous players.
(wotc2018-07-13)
If a player has zero cards in hand, controls no lands, or controls no creatures, other players will have to discard their entire hand, sacrifice all of their lands, or sacrifice all of their creatures, as appropriate.
(wotc2018-07-13)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS