Hunting Velociraptor

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Dinosaur

First strike

Dinosaur spells you cast have prowl Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol. (You may cast a spell for its prowl cost if you dealt combat damage to a player this turn with a creature with any of its creature types.)

"Clever girl." —Robert Muldoon

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

You can cast a spell for its prowl cost any time in a turn after a creature you control of a matching type has dealt combat damage to a player. It doesn't matter if that player left the game, if that creature left the battlefield or left your control, or if that creature no longer has a matching type.
(wotc2023-11-10)
Prowl compares the creature types of the spell with the creature types of the creatures that dealt combat damage to players this turn. For example, this means that normally, if you control Hunting Velociraptor, you can cast Grim Giganotosaurus for its prowl cost only if a Dinosaur dealt combat damage to a player, but if an effect causes the spell to have other creature types, the prowl ability is also satisfied by a creature with those additional types having dealt combat damage to a player.
(wotc2023-11-10)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS