Lazav, the Multifarious

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Shapeshifter

When Lazav enters, surveil 1. (Look at the top card of your library. You may put it into your graveyard.)

Magic the Gathering mana symbol: Lazav becomes a copy of target creature card in your graveyard with mana value X, except its name is Lazav, the Multifarious, it's legendary in addition to its other types, and it has this ability.

qYongjae Choi
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, you'll surveil last. For others, you'll surveil and then perform other actions.
(wotc2024-01-12)
Lazav copies exactly what was printed on the original card and nothing else, except the characteristics it specifically modifies. It doesn't copy any information about the object the card was before it was put into your graveyard.
(wotc2018-10-05)
Because Lazav isn't entering the battlefield when it becomes a copy of a card, any "When this enters the battlefield" or "This enters the battlefield with" abilities of the copied card won't apply.
(wotc2018-10-05)
Any effects that applied to Lazav before it becomes a copy of another card will continue to apply once it's become a copy. The same is true of any counters that are on Lazav.
(wotc2018-10-05)
If a card in your graveyard has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.
(wotc2018-10-05)
If the copied card has an ability that can be activated only once each turn, copying that card a second time will allow you to activate the new instance of that ability.
(wotc2018-10-05)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS