Scheming Fence
Creature — Human Citizen
As this creature enters, you may choose a nonland permanent.
Activated abilities of the chosen permanent can't be activated.
This creature has all activated abilities of the chosen permanent except for loyalty abilities. You may spend mana as though it were mana of any color to activate those abilities.
Cristi Balanescu
Streets of New Capenna (SNC)
• #219Rulings
Some activated abilities won't do anything when activated by Scheming Fence. For example, if the chosen permanent is an Equipment with an equip ability, activating that equip ability will not cause Scheming Fence to become attached because it isn't one of the subtypes which can be attached to permanents (Aura, Equipment, and Fortification).
(wotc • 2022-04-29)
Scheming Fence gains only activated abilities. It doesn't gain keyword abilities (unless those keyword abilities are activated), triggered abilities, or static abilities.
(wotc • 2022-04-29)
Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written "[Cost]: [Effect]." Some keywords are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text.
(wotc • 2022-04-29)
If an ability that Scheming Fence gains refers to the permanent it is on by name, the ability Scheming Fence has refers to Scheming Fence instead.
(wotc • 2022-04-29)
Rulings
Some activated abilities won't do anything when activated by Scheming Fence. For example, if the chosen permanent is an Equipment with an equip ability, activating that equip ability will not cause Scheming Fence to become attached because it isn't one of the subtypes which can be attached to permanents (Aura, Equipment, and Fortification).
(wotc • 2022-04-29)
Scheming Fence gains only activated abilities. It doesn't gain keyword abilities (unless those keyword abilities are activated), triggered abilities, or static abilities.
(wotc • 2022-04-29)
Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written "[Cost]: [Effect]." Some keywords are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text.
(wotc • 2022-04-29)
If an ability that Scheming Fence gains refers to the permanent it is on by name, the ability Scheming Fence has refers to Scheming Fence instead.
(wotc • 2022-04-29)