Expropriate
Sorcery
Council's dilemma — Starting with you, each player votes for time or money. For each time vote, take an extra turn after this one. For each money vote, choose a permanent owned by the voter and gain control of it. Exile Expropriate.
Even those who think they have nothing have something left to lose.
Borja Pindado
Special Guests (SPG)
• #66Rulings
No player votes until Expropriate resolves. Any responses to the spell must be made without knowing the outcome of the vote.
(wotc • 2024-09-20)
Each player must vote for one of the available options. They can't abstain.
(wotc • 2024-09-20)
Votes are cast in turn order, and each player will know the votes of players who voted beforehand.
(wotc • 2024-09-20)
No player votes until the spell or ability resolves. Any responses to that spell or ability must be made without knowing the outcome of the vote.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
If a creature with an enters-the-battlefield council's dilemma ability leaves the battlefield before that ability resolves, players can still vote for any option that would put +1/+1 counters on that creature, even though—or perhaps especially because—those votes won't generate an effect.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
Players can't do anything between voting and finishing the resolution of the spell or ability that included the vote.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
The effects of each council's dilemma ability happen in the stated order. First the vote occurs, then the first effect, and finally the second effect.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
Unlike the will of the council cards from the original Conspiracy set, where a majority of votes determined what happened, each vote made for a council's dilemma card adds to the ultimate effect.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
You must vote for one of the available options. You can't abstain.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
Because the votes are made in turn order, each player will know the votes of players who voted beforehand.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
Rulings
No player votes until Expropriate resolves. Any responses to the spell must be made without knowing the outcome of the vote.
(wotc • 2024-09-20)
Each player must vote for one of the available options. They can't abstain.
(wotc • 2024-09-20)
Votes are cast in turn order, and each player will know the votes of players who voted beforehand.
(wotc • 2024-09-20)
No player votes until the spell or ability resolves. Any responses to that spell or ability must be made without knowing the outcome of the vote.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
If a creature with an enters-the-battlefield council's dilemma ability leaves the battlefield before that ability resolves, players can still vote for any option that would put +1/+1 counters on that creature, even though—or perhaps especially because—those votes won't generate an effect.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
Players can't do anything between voting and finishing the resolution of the spell or ability that included the vote.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
The effects of each council's dilemma ability happen in the stated order. First the vote occurs, then the first effect, and finally the second effect.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
Unlike the will of the council cards from the original Conspiracy set, where a majority of votes determined what happened, each vote made for a council's dilemma card adds to the ultimate effect.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
You must vote for one of the available options. You can't abstain.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)
Because the votes are made in turn order, each player will know the votes of players who voted beforehand.
(wotc • 2016-08-23)