Faceless Butcher

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Nightmare Horror

When this creature enters, exile another target creature.

When this creature leaves the battlefield, return the exiled card to the battlefield under its owner's control.

qDaren Bader
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

If Faceless Butcher exiles a token creature, the token will cease to exist after being exiled. It won’t return to the battlefield because of the second ability.
(wotc2022-12-08)
Faceless Butcher’s first ability isn’t optional. If no other players control any creatures and you do, you must choose a creature you control as the target.
(wotc2022-12-08)
If Faceless Butcher exiles a second Faceless Butcher, and then a third Faceless Butcher comes along and exiles the first one, the second one will return to the battlefield. If there are no other creatures on the battlefield, the second will exile the third one, returning the first one, and so on. If no one can stop the loop, the game will be a draw.
(wotc2022-12-08)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS