Detainment Spell

Magic the Gathering mana symbol
Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature's activated abilities can't be activated.

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol: Attach this Aura to target creature.

Bind the mind rather than the wrist, and you stop the intent to harm before it starts.

qDarrell Riche
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Responding to a creature's activated ability being activated by moving Detainment Spell onto that creature won't affect the ability that was just activated.
(wotc2006-09-25)
Detainment Spell prevents mana abilities of the enchanted creature from being activated.
(wotc2006-09-25)
Morph isn't an activated ability, so Detainment Spell doesn't prevent face-down creatures from being able to turn face up.
(wotc2006-09-25)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS