Palace Jailer

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Human Soldier

When this creature enters, you become the monarch.

When this creature enters, exile target creature an opponent controls until an opponent becomes the monarch.

qDavid Palumbo
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Auras attached to the exiled creature will be put into their owners' graveyards. Equipment attached to the exiled creature will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Counters on the exiled creature will cease to exist.
(wotc2021-03-19)
If you're not the monarch as Palace Jailer's second ability resolves, the creature will be exiled until there's a new monarch and that player is one of your opponents. The creature won't immediately return just because an opponent is the monarch.
(wotc2021-03-19)
Palace Jailer leaving the battlefield won't cause the exiled creature to return. The game will continue to watch for the next time an opponent becomes the monarch.
(wotc2021-03-19)
If a creature token is exiled, it ceases to exist. It won't return to the battlefield.
(wotc2021-03-19)
Being the monarch carries two inherent triggered abilities. "At the beginning of the monarch's end step, that player draws a card" and "Whenever a creature deals combat damage to the monarch, its controller becomes the monarch."
(wotc2021-03-19)
The game starts with no monarch. Once an effect makes one player the monarch, the game will have exactly one monarch from that point forward.
(wotc2021-03-19)
In a multiplayer game, if the monarch leaves the game, the player whose turn it is immediately becomes the monarch. If the player whose turn it is has left the game, instead the next player in turn order becomes the monarch.
(wotc2021-03-19)
The opponent that controlled the exiled card doesn't have to be the same opponent that becomes the monarch in order to cause that card to return to the battlefield. Any opponent becoming the monarch will cause the card to return.
(wotc2021-03-19)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS