Flicker

Magic the Gathering symbolMagic the Gathering symbol
Sorcery

Exile target nontoken permanent, then return it to the battlefield under its owner's control.

Who is truer: you who are, or you who are to be?

qDouglas Shuler
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

This spell effectively "resets" the permanent to being just like it was freshly cast. All counters, Auras, effects, and so on are removed when it is exiled. Then it comes back onto the battlefield like new.
(wotc2005-08-01)
This could be used to make the target of another spell or ability illegal if this wasn't a sorcery (which makes it really hard to do that). This is because the Flickered permanent leaves the battlefield and then returns as a completely different permanent, and the targeted spell will not recognize it.
(wotc2004-10-04)
It will trigger "enters" abilities and "leaves the battlefield" abilities. Note that the card does not go to the graveyard, so it will not trigger "goes to the graveyard" abilities.
(wotc2004-10-04)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS