Cemetery Desecrator
Creature — Zombie
Menace
When this creature enters or dies, exile another card from a graveyard. When you do, choose one —
• Remove X counters from target permanent, where X is the mana value of the exiled card.
• Target creature an opponent controls gets -X/-X until end of turn, where X is the mana value of the exiled card.
Dan Murayama Scott
Innistrad: Crimson Vow (VOW)
• #100Rulings
The controller of Cemetery Desecrator chooses which counters are removed, and they may remove more than one kind of counter. If the target permanent has fewer than X counters, all of them are removed.
(wotc • 2021-11-19)
After you exile a card from a graveyard, another triggered ability goes on the stack. You choose the mode and target as you put that second ability on the stack, not before you exile a card.
(wotc • 2021-11-19)
Rulings
The controller of Cemetery Desecrator chooses which counters are removed, and they may remove more than one kind of counter. If the target permanent has fewer than X counters, all of them are removed.
(wotc • 2021-11-19)
After you exile a card from a graveyard, another triggered ability goes on the stack. You choose the mode and target as you put that second ability on the stack, not before you exile a card.
(wotc • 2021-11-19)