Gideon's Company
Creature — Human Soldier
Whenever you gain life, put two +1/+1 counters on this creature.
: Put a loyalty counter on target Gideon planeswalker.
"For the Legion! For Ravnica!"
Milivoj Ćeran
War of the Spark (WAR)
• #268Rulings
Putting a loyalty counter on a Gideon planeswalker doesn’t cause any of its activated abilities to become activated.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
The ability of Gideon’s Company triggers just once for each life-gaining event, whether it’s 1 life from Ajani’s Welcome or 2 life from Battlefield Promotion.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
If you gain an amount of life “for each” of something, that life is gained as one event and the ability of Gideon’s Company triggers only once.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
If Gideon’s Company is dealt lethal damage at the same time that you gain life, it won’t receive counters from its ability in time to save it.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
Each creature with lifelink dealing combat damage causes a separate life-gaining event. For example, if two creatures you control with lifelink deal combat damage at the same time, Gideon’s Company’s ability will trigger twice. However, if a single creature you control with lifelink deals combat damage to multiple creatures, players, and/or planeswalkers at the same time (perhaps because it has trample or was blocked by more than one creature), the ability will trigger only once.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
In a Two-Headed Giant game, life gained by your teammate won’t cause the ability to trigger, even though it caused your team’s life total to increase.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
Rulings
Putting a loyalty counter on a Gideon planeswalker doesn’t cause any of its activated abilities to become activated.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
The ability of Gideon’s Company triggers just once for each life-gaining event, whether it’s 1 life from Ajani’s Welcome or 2 life from Battlefield Promotion.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
If you gain an amount of life “for each” of something, that life is gained as one event and the ability of Gideon’s Company triggers only once.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
If Gideon’s Company is dealt lethal damage at the same time that you gain life, it won’t receive counters from its ability in time to save it.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
Each creature with lifelink dealing combat damage causes a separate life-gaining event. For example, if two creatures you control with lifelink deal combat damage at the same time, Gideon’s Company’s ability will trigger twice. However, if a single creature you control with lifelink deals combat damage to multiple creatures, players, and/or planeswalkers at the same time (perhaps because it has trample or was blocked by more than one creature), the ability will trigger only once.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)
In a Two-Headed Giant game, life gained by your teammate won’t cause the ability to trigger, even though it caused your team’s life total to increase.
(wotc • 2019-05-03)