Candy Grapple
Instant
Bargain
Target creature gets -3/-3 until end of turn. If this spell was bargained, that creature gets -5/-5 until end of turn instead.
"Don't you mean 'poisonous'? There's no such thing as a venomous—AGGHHH!"
Konstantin Porubov
Wilds of Eldraine (WOE)
• #83Rulings
If you copy a bargained spell, the copy is also bargained. If a card or token enters the battlefield as a copy of a permanent that’s already on the battlefield, the new permanent isn’t bargained, even if the original was.
(wotc • 2023-09-01)
Some instant and sorcery spells require additional targets if they’re bargained. You ignore those targeting requirements if those spells aren’t bargained, and you can’t bargain those spells unless you can choose the appropriate targets. On the other hand, you can bargain a permanent spell even if you won’t be able to choose targets for an enters-the-battlefield ability of that permanent once the spell resolves.
(wotc • 2023-09-01)
Bargain represents an optional additional cost. A spell cast with that additional cost paid is “bargained.”
(wotc • 2023-09-01)
You may sacrifice only one artifact, enchantment, or token to pay a spell’s bargain cost.
(wotc • 2023-09-01)
Bargain means “As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may sacrifice an artifact, enchantment, or token.”
(wotc • 2023-09-01)
Rulings
If you copy a bargained spell, the copy is also bargained. If a card or token enters the battlefield as a copy of a permanent that’s already on the battlefield, the new permanent isn’t bargained, even if the original was.
(wotc • 2023-09-01)
Some instant and sorcery spells require additional targets if they’re bargained. You ignore those targeting requirements if those spells aren’t bargained, and you can’t bargain those spells unless you can choose the appropriate targets. On the other hand, you can bargain a permanent spell even if you won’t be able to choose targets for an enters-the-battlefield ability of that permanent once the spell resolves.
(wotc • 2023-09-01)
Bargain represents an optional additional cost. A spell cast with that additional cost paid is “bargained.”
(wotc • 2023-09-01)
You may sacrifice only one artifact, enchantment, or token to pay a spell’s bargain cost.
(wotc • 2023-09-01)
Bargain means “As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may sacrifice an artifact, enchantment, or token.”
(wotc • 2023-09-01)